2019 Honor Awards Winners

SEATTLE, November 5, 2019—The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Seattle chapter hosted the 69th annual Honor Awards for Washington Architecture on November 4 to celebrate excellence in design.

The distinguished jury included Bryan C. Lee Jr.  (New Orleans), Lisa Matthiessen FAIA (Santa Monica), and Jonathan Tate (New Orleans). The event was moderated by Elizabeth Golden, Assistant Professor of Architecture at the University of Washington. Co-Chairs for the 2019 AIA Seattle Honor Awards were Susan McNabb AIA (The Miller Hull Partnership) and Kevin Snook AIA (ZGF Architects).

From 131 submittals, the jury chose 13 award winners from three categories – built, conceptual, and research & innovation. This was the second year of the Research & Innovation category, recognizing strides in research and innovation coming out of our region, elevating our communities’ awareness of advancement in architectural practice. This was the fourth year of the Energy in Design Award to commend projects that have made quantifiably significant strides in energy reduction while also maintaining the highest qualitative design caliber.

In addition to the awards, it was the second year of the Young Voices Selection (YVS), a program with the aim to engage and elevate the voices of young designers through direct participation and representation in AIA Seattle’s Honor Awards for Washington Architecture. The three YVS panelists were Sarah Burk Assoc. AIA (JW Architects), Kyle Francis Assoc. AIA (Neiman Taber Architects), and Will Crothers AIA (Integrus Architecture).

Across the spectrum of project types, the jury acknowledged the strong design culture represented in our region, and applauded projects that went further than just beautiful design and thoughtful conceptual understanding – thinking about larger themes of justice, equity, density, and how buildings perform. The jury thought a lot about the social and environmental impact, context and influence of these projects in making their selections, and celebrated projects that dealt with larger social issues beyond the building’s scope. “We are celebrating what we want to see more of. Continue your willingness to take risks answering the problems we face and contribute with our work and skills for future generations” said juror, Matthiessen FAIA.

Congratulations to all the winners and thank you to our esteemed jury and Honor Awards Committee!


Big Mouth House by Best Practice Architecture and Hybrid Architecture


Big Mouth House by Best Practice Architecture & Hybrid Architecture is a townhouse project comprised of 3 homes and 3 Accessory Dwelling Units. The jury appreciated the thoughtful and inventive approach to adding density to our neighborhoods. The careful attention to scale and relationships within the project and to the neighborhood are what made this project an Award of Honor, as well as how smart the spaces were organized and detailed.



Big Mouth House - Honor Award 2019, by Best Practice Architecture and Hybrid Architecture
National Nordic Museum by Mithun is a museum and cultural center celebrating the Nordic and Nordic American experience. The jury appreciated the way in which this building was both successful  museum and community center, and how integral the exhibit design is to the design of the whole building. The spatialization of a migration timeline combined with the subtle fjord concept, along with the seamless weaving in and celebrating of the community were what made this an Award of Honor for the jury.    




Hazel Wolf K-8 ESTEM School by NAC Architecture is an environmentally ambitious K-8 school in the Seattle Public School System. The jury was impressed by the proven energy data of this complex building type that maximized a small site and incorporated nature while also being daylight-filled, playful, and embodying the environmental curriculum, using the building as a teaching tool.



Discovery High School by DLR Group
Seattle Resource Hub by Sundberg Kennedy Ly Au Young Architects (Conceptual)
Softbox by KOArchitecture & Ed Sozhino
The Shea by Public47 Architects
University of Washington, Life Sciences Building by Perkins + Will


ADUniverse by Rick Mohler AIA & Nick Welch (Research & Innovation)
ARTS at King Street Station by Schacht Aslani Architects & Olson Kundig
Denny Dimin Gallery Installation by Montgomery Townsend LLC
Living Upon the History by Vlanka Catalan, Siyu Qu, Peipei Sun (Conceptual)
Whidbey Island Residence by The Miller Hull Partnership LLP


ARTS at King Street Station by Schacht Aslani Architects & Olson Kundig

To view all of the 2019 submissions, visit the:

Click here for online gallery

Special thanks to our 2019 Honor Awards Sponsors:

honor awards list of sponsor logos