2022 Honor Award Winners

Winners Announced for the 2022 Honor Awards for Washington Architecture

SEATTLE, November 8, 2022 – Last night, the American Institute of Architects (AIA) Seattle hosted the 72nd annual Honor Awards for Washington Architecture to celebrate excellence in design.

The distinguished jury included Billie Faircloth FAIA, LEED AP BD+C (KieranTimberlake), Ghazal Khezri (LOHA), and Kimberly Garza ASLA, PLA LEED AP (Atlas Lab), with Ken Tadashi Oshima (UW College of Built Environments) as moderator.

From 100 submissions, the jury chose 15 award winners from three categories – Built, Conceptual, and Research & Innovation. This was the fifth year of the Research & Innovation category, recognizing strides in research and innovation coming out of our region, elevating our communities’ awareness of advancement in architectural practice. This was the seventh year of the Energy in Design Award to commend projects that have made quantifiably significant strides in energy reduction while also maintaining the highest qualitative design caliber.

Across the spectrum of project types, the jury acknowledged the strong design culture represented in our region and were so impressed with the “high level of design excellence in projects that delight, inspire and enrich their communities all while having a positive impact on the environment.”

In addition to the main juried awards, it was the fifth year of the Young Voices Selection (YVS), a program with the aim to engage and elevate the voices of young designers through direct participation and representation in AIA Seattle’s Honor Awards for Washington Architecture. The three YVS panelists, Alyssa Mitchell Assoc. AIA, NOMA (Weber Thompson), Mariel Dougoud (Perkins&Will), and Nikki Sugihara Assoc. AIA (Wittman Estes), selected 1 Built project as the Young Voices Selection award winner.

Congratulations to all the winners, and thank you to our esteemed jury, moderator, and Honor Awards Committee!

Visit the 2022 Honor Awards Digital Publication and the Online Gallery to learn more about the projects, as well as project team and collaborator information. Missed the live show? You can catch the replay here!


Mini Mart City Park (MMCP) by GO’C is a new arts-oriented community center in Georgetown. The project, which sits directly across from Boeing Field, has transformed a former gas station site into a Seattle hub for art events and community gatherings. The jury commended the team for creating an architecture that amplifies community and ecological agency.



Phinney Mini by Best Practice Architecture is a remodel and micro-addition to an existing 1907 16-and-a-half-foot-wide two-story farmhouse. This project shows how a building can be adapted to new times, prioritizing quality over quantity – more by doing less – something that the jury greatly appreciated.




The Bush School New Upper School by Mithun is a building inserts itself into a tight urban campus site adjacent to the school’s original facility, historic Gracemont Hall. This symbiotic connection creates a unique narrative between generations of learning spaces built a century apart that are woven into a common educational alignment. Most importantly for the jury, it defines a new visible edge of the campus to inspire broader change in the community.




The Bush School New Upper School by Mithun was also the recipient of the Energy in Design Award. It is a modest-scale building that features a wide array of indoor and connected outdoor learning and social spaces that amplify the Bush School curriculum while honoring site ecology and campus context. The jury also greatly appreciated the use of extensive passive strategies to reduce the load on renewable energy sources.


A Workplace That Resonates by NBBJ (Research & Innovation)
Ballard Food Bank by Graham Baba Architects
The Hive by Integrus Architecture
Heartwood Mass Timber/Steel Hybrid Workforce Housing by atelierjones (Research & Innovation)
ReHOME: Resilience + Regeneration by Coates Design (Research & Innovation)
The Roost by Neiman Taber Architects


Alma Clark Glass Hall by Mahlum Architects
Byrd Barr Place by SHKS Architects
Juanita Beach Park Bathhouse by EHDD Architecture


Living Watershed by Weber Thompson

To view all 100 submissions to the 2022 Honor Awards, visit the:

Click here for online gallery

To view all of the 2022 Honor Awards submissions, visit the Online Gallery.