Three Recipients Announced for 2019 AIA Northwest Washington Section Scholarship Fund

Three college students were chosen to receive AIA Northwest Washington Section's 2019 scholarship, totaling $4500 to local residents pursuing an architectural education.

The Northwest Washington Section Scholarship Fund has awarded three scholarships totally $4500 to local residents pursuing Architectural education.

2018-2019 Recipients:

Truman Hood is from Langley, Washington and currently a senior at Washington State University working towards his Architecture BS degree with plans to earn his Masters of Architecture degree. Truman received a scholarship of $2000.

Gaven Kreider graduated from Burlington-Edison High School in 2013 with credits from Skagit Valley College. Currently a senior at University of Colorado Denver’s Undergraduate Architecture program, Gaven will be applying to University of Washington’s Graduate Architecture program this winter. Gaven received a scholarship of $1500.

Zack Harvey is from Everson, Washington where he attended Nooksack Valley High School. He is at the University of Washington where he plans to get a degree in Architectural Design with a dual degree in Construction Management. Zack received a scholarship of $1000.

About the Northwest Washington Section Scholarship Fund

The goal of the AIA Northwest Washington Section Scholarship is to encourage and assist local residents of Whatcom, Skagit, Island and San Juan Counties who are pursuing a degree in architecture in an accredited School of Architecture. Entering its 8th year, the scholarship fund primarily funded by funds raised at the annual Scholarship Golf Tournament and aided by a $1000 grant from AIA National. The 2018 tournament was held August 24, and raised an additional $2000, allowing for 3 scholarships this year.

About the Northwest Washington Section of American Institute of Architects Seattle Chapter AIA Northwest Washington is section of AIA Seattle that provides events and programs for AIA members in Skagit, Whatcom, Island and San Juan counties.